Network Plant Conservation Awards 2012

Botanical greats, hard workers and inspirers of the next generation have all been honoured in the awards announced by the New Zealand Plant Conservation Network (NZPCN) on Thursday 29 November at the AGM in Christchurch.
The awards recognise special people, and projects that have captured the interest of local communities.  These individuals and groups are the leading guardians of our country’s native plants and ecosystems.  They include a Kapiti Coast School, a southland plant nursery, a roading agency and dedicated plant enthusiasts and conservationists.

These awards are indicative of the huge effort that is being exerted all around the country by a large number of dedicated individuals, communities, and organisations to protect and enhance our unique native plants. 

In 2012, the award for the ‘Individual Involved in Plant Conservation’ goes to Alice Shanks of Canterbury.  Alice is a long time plant conservation advocate in her local Canterbury community.  Both people and plants have benefited from Alice’s undying enthusiasm. 

Plant Nursery
Pukerau Nursery, run by Arne and Jenny Cleland, won the ‘Plant Nursery Involved in Plant Conservation’ award for their enthusiasm for native plants, their ability to communicate with and encourage landowners towards native plantings and their involvement in restoration plantings. 

The ‘School Plant Conservation Project’ award went to Raumati South School on the Kapati Coast. 

Community Group
The NZPCN’s ‘Community Plant Conservation Project’ award went to the Nelson Branch of Forest and Bird for their efforts in restoring delta floodplain, an estuarine ecosystem at Paremata Flat (Whangamoa River Mouth) just north of Nelson. 

Local Authority
The Local Authority Protecting Native Plant Life award goes to Hutt City Council this year for pritecting Baring Head on the Wellington South Coast.

Lifetime achievement award
John Dawson has been awarded a ‘Life Time Achievement’ award by the Network for his contribution to botany over his lifetime.  

Special award
A special award this year goes to the New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA) for their commitment to planting roadways in native species.

“Those honoured are leading the way in plant conservation in New Zealand, and set an example to us all to strive for”, said Philippa Crisp.  The New Zealand Plant Conservation Network congratulates all award winners.

This page last updated on 26 Aug 2013