There are ten native species of rata in New Zealand all in the genus Metrosideros. Four of these form trees (northern rata, southern rata, Bartlett's rata and Parkinson's rata) and the remaining six species are all lianes. Metrosideros fulgens (flower buds, left, by Jeremy Rolfe) and Metrosideros umbellata - southern rata (right, by John Barkla)



For more information about rata see*:

*The Network is not responsible for the content of external internet sites




This page last updated on 30 Mar 2013