Dicotyledonous plants

The flowering plants (angiosperms) are dominated by by two evolutionary groups: monocotyledons and dicotyledons. These groups can be distinguished by the number of embryonic seed leaves (cotyledons), the arrangement of vascular tissue in the stem, leaf venation, and manner of leaf attachment to the stem.

Dicotyledenous plants tend to exhibit the following characteristics (although exceptions may be found):

  • Two embryo leaves - cotyledons
  • Tap root system - one main root with side roots
  • Leaves with net venation
  • Secondary growth in stems
  • Whorls in flowers made up of four or five parts

Dicotyledenous plant groups in New Zealand include:

For more information see:

This page last updated on 8 Oct 2018