Libocedrus bidwillii. Photo: John Barkla. 

The New Zealand Botanic Region has two native species of cypress and ten introduced species. These are all in the cypress family (Cupressaceae).

The two native species are:

The ten species of introduced cypress that have naturalised in New Zealand are:

For more information about cypress trees see:

This page last updated on 1 Dec 2013