Distribution of geothermal vegetation

Geothermal vegetation at Lake Rotokawa, near Taupo. Photo: Chris Bycroft

Most geothermal vegetation occurs in Taupo Volcanic Zone in the Central North Island, extending from the volcanic mountains of the Central North Island through to Whakaari (White Island) in the Bay of Plenty. One other high energy geothermal field is present at Ngawha, in Northland. Scattered small surface expressions of geothermal energy, as hot springs, are found throughout the North Island and South Islands, associated with tectonic activity and faults, particularly associated with the axial mountain ranges. 


This page last updated on 8 Nov 2012