Beech forests

Rockburn Valley.  Photo: John Sawyer

Beech forests are the least diverse forest types in New Zealand and generally grow in the colder mountain regions along the Southern Alps and the ranges of the North Island, although black and hard beech also occur in lowland areas.  Red beech is the tallest beech species and dominates on more fertile sites.  Silver beech and mountain beech are more competitive at higher altitudes, with the latter more so in drier regions.  For more information about New Zealand's beech species see the Beech tree area of this website. 

Beech forest in Beansburn Valley.Photo: John Sawyer.

To read about New Zealand's other indigenous forest types follow these links:

For more information about beech forests see:





This page last updated on 4 Nov 2016